living life, one migraine at a time…

just me and me thoughts…:]

Movie Review: TWILIGHT…

with 8 comments

Actually, I’ve encountered Twilight even before its fangirls hyped it up so much…I ran across apost by a Multiply friend, it was somewhat of a greeting card-esque letter stating even though the guy is not like Edward Cullen, he will do all he can for the girl…and the comments were littered with stuff about this Edward guy I couldn’t comprehend…

So I looked him up on Wikipedia and then that got e reading the Plots of the Twilight Saga…I didn’t really know then that it would be such a big thing that it is now…

Anyhoo, months pass by and lo and behold, Twilight is almost on everyone’s lips and blogs and plurks…

Now, I am a fan of the Vampire mythos and loved Anne Rice’s works but Twilight just didn’t appeal to me…

So, when the movie came out, I vowed to watch it and see for myself what’s with all the hubbub…

Hours after they’ve seen the movie most were disappointed and liked the book better…some didn’t like it but loved every bit of Edward…some were ok with it..some were pissed at screaming fangirls, shouting their lungs off everytime Edward was onscreen…

More or less, I got to watch it and I must say that from an observer’s standpoint that it was actually an OK film…strip away every bit of Vampire in the movie and all you have left is a love story..which was pretty much a mush-fest and a bit cliched…

I also found Robert Pattinson’s [Edward Cullen] stare and facial expressions funny as it looked like he was stoned or drunk..or both..and Peter Facinelli [Carlisle Cullen] seems a little bit too pale than the rest which made him look like an albino…and I never really get why Kristen Stewart’s character Bella, played matchmaker to her friends and made ’em all into couples..I loved Taylor Lautner’s character Jacob Black as well as his tribal “heritage”…

And a couple of things I noticed that deviated from the Vampire Mythos, one being that the Vampires in the movie had reflections and that the Vampires do not get burnt by the Sun…they rather “glow” with a thousand glitters [i found that part pretty funny]…although I really didn’t mind, people create their own stories…

I won’t really go much more into detail but I guess that if you haven’t read the book, the movie will be ok…that is why I plan to get me a copy to see whether or not the movie justifies it…

No, I am not jumping on the “Edward Cullen” bandwagon of any sort…I love reading, I love Vampires…that’s it…I won’t be all “oooh edward!” and whatnot..

And so, this somewhat first movie review for this blog ends with a good note…Twilight came and delievered the goods…the goods might not be in the condition that people wanted but they delivered anyway…it is a decent watch and if the DVD comes out, the bonus content might be fun to have and watch..

Written by The AlanSong

December 3, 2008 at 10:11 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am proud to say that I was not one of those screaming girls in the movie house. I just screamed while reading the book. Just a little scream.

    Wow, naging matchmaker nga si bella noh? ngayon ko lang narealize

    GYK

    December 3, 2008 at 10:57 pm

  2. Hey Gyk! [link ex..? hihihi]

    welcome to me site..;]

    hahaha..and I forgot to add there were no incidents of screaming fangirls when I watched and I am sooo thankful..hahaha…

    the book is different so I guess it’s ok… and I noticed the matchmaking when she gave advice to that thin girl with glasses…

    The AlanSong

    December 3, 2008 at 11:05 pm

  3. You’ll be one of the few girls that aren’t screaming Edward’s name!

    Check out this male’s perspective on Twilight(novel)–maybe my reasoning will resonate with you!

    nathanbriscoe

    December 5, 2008 at 1:03 am

  4. proud ako kasi, i didn’t scream during the movie. hehe. altho meron mga fangirls who did scream. kasi nanuod ako ng 1st showing during opening day. hehe.

    the movie was ok. sabi nga ng tatay ko wag daw ako maxado magbasa ng novels kasi fiction lang daw yun. baka hanggang fantasy na lang ang mangyari sakin. wag naman sana. 😛

    kawen

    December 7, 2008 at 10:17 am

  5. er…I’m not a girl..or maybe you’re replying to Gyk’s comment..

    anyhoo, thanks for visiting, commenting and sharing a link…

    The AlanSong

    December 7, 2008 at 8:10 pm

  6. hi kawen!

    thanks for the visit and comment..

    hahah….hope you got to understand the movie amidst all the screaming…and reading ain’t all that bad..it’s fun and an escape as well.. :]

    The AlanSong

    December 7, 2008 at 8:13 pm

  7. seems likely that they will come out with a Twilight sequel pretty soon, there’s a crazy lot of ticket sales at stake

    coffee

    January 17, 2009 at 7:32 am

  8. hey coffee!

    thanks for the visit and comment..

    there will be a sequel soon and after that and after that…as they will make movies of it as long as Stephanie Meyer keeps churning out books..LOL

    there is alot of hub-bub about it…

    will it die down when the new Harry Potter comes out, i wonder..?

    The AlanSong

    January 17, 2009 at 10:22 am


Leave a Reply

