living life, one migraine at a time…

just me and me thoughts…:]

Music Review: WATCHMEN OST..

leave a comment »

WATCHMEN Music from and inspired by the Movie OST Cover

After watching the film and reading the songs during the end [as well as listening to them during the film], I knew I had to get my hands on the OST.

And they have two, one’s the Musical Score which is basically the background orchestraic music and the other one’s this one. An OST of Music that was in the Movie. I didn’t get the Musical Score Album yet [lack of funds D:] but I will get it soon. Nevertheless, the OST is still worth the buy on it’s own.

Track Listing: 

01 – My Chemical Romance – Desolation Row 
02 – Nat King Cole – Unforgettable 
03 – Bob Dylan – The Times They Are A-Changin’ 
04 – Simon & Garfunkel – The Sound Of Silence 
05 – Janis Joplin – Me And Bobby McGee  
06 – K.C. & The Sunshine Band – I’m Your Boogie Man 
07 – Billie Holiday – You’re My Thrill 
08 – The Philip Glass Ensemble – Pruit Igoe & Prophecies 
09 – Leonard Cohen – Hallelujah 
10 – Jimi Hendrix – All Along The Watchtower 
11 – Budapest Symphony Orchestra – Ride Of The Valkyries 
12 – Nina Simone – Pirate Jenny 

 

Now, seeing that the movie was during the 80’s era. More or less, the music should reflect that and there are nice songs that are here. Surprisingly, My Chemical Romance is at the top with a cover of Bob Dylan’s “Desolation Row” [which you can hear at the end of the film]. But it’s not there usual noise and it still gives of the 80’s kind of feel which can be heard throughout the album.

I couldn’t have gotten any of these great songs in my music library if it wasn’t for this OST. Nat King Cole’s “Unforgettable” is still a classic and it’s funny how they used it in this film. It’s nice to hear a Janis Joplin song again. I am currently liking Kc & the Sunshine band’s “I’m Your Boogie Man”, which has a double entendre of sorts. Another song which has a weird placement in the film is Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah”. And lastly, we get to hear a rare song in Nina Simone’s “Pirate Jenny” which I’ve read that she rarely performed this one and when she did it took the energy out of her and took a long time to recover.

This OST is simply a great compilation of songs and if you have gotten to watch the movie, whether or not you liked it, it’s a great buy and addition to your library.


Written by The AlanSong

March 14, 2009 at 7:07 pm

Posted in Blogs

Tagged with , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

