living life, one migraine at a time…

just me and me thoughts…:]

Music Review: Pictures of You – A Tribute to The Cure..

with 7 comments

 

Album Cover

 

I’m very much thankful that both my Dad and his brother [hence, my Uncle] had a very large background [and collection!] of music. And that, at a very young age, I was able to listen to such diverse and different sounds. But I was THAT much young to understand the meaning of the songs, heck I couldn’t even read well nevertheless my ears were functioning right and they were hearing beautiful music.

One band that I really liked was The Cure, albeit it was not until I reached Highschool in ’97 that I was fully immersed into Music and that I was able to read up on, understood and even sang songs from this band. 

I was surprised that they launched this album last February and I didn’t get wind about it. Anyhoo, the tracklist is:

1.] An Introduction by Robert Smith
2.] Mystery Jets and Esser – In Between Days*
3.] Lostprophets – Boys Don’t Cry*
4.] Marmaduke Duke – Friday I’m In Love
5.] Dinosaur Jnr – Just Like Heaven
6.] The Big Pink – Lovesong
7.] Editors – Lullaby
8.] British Sea Power – A Forest
9.] The Dandy Warhols – Primary
10.] The Get Up Kids – Close To Me*
11.] The Futureheads – The Lovecats*
12.] Art Brut – Catch
13.] Metronomy – Fascination Street
14.] Alkaline Trio – Cut Here*
15.] Get Cape. Wear Cape. Fly – In Between Days*

I generally like covers. Erm..the good ones, like the All American Rejects’ Cover Version of “Womanizer”. I love how artists reinvent or even breath new life to old songs albeit there are other cover songs that just plainly is bad, REALLY bad.

Anyhoo, this album of covers seem to be just right. 

It starts of with a spoken intro by Robert Smith who talks about how The Cure started, how they covered songs and the how, when and why to cover a song. It’s a good almost 3minute talk.

Then the songs, it’s not that full of known artists but that doesn’t matter. Some of the cover songs tried as much not to deviate from the sound of The Cure while some went way out there, some even sound like a remix. 

The songs in the tracklist above that has asterisks are my picks for this album. But that doesn’t mean I didn’t like the other ones, it’s just that I like these songs better. I’m glad to see Get Cape. Wear Cape. Fly. on this compilation as i’ve been a fan since I first heard the album last, last year. Also, I am surprised how well the LostProphets did their cover, as it sounded  unlike them.

If there was any negative thing to say about this album is that the songs are too few. There have been other cover compilations and tributes to The Cure that came out with two CD’s.

And with that, even though it’ll be another cover album/tribute, it’s still a nice addition to your Cure and/or Music library.

Written by The AlanSong

March 17, 2009 at 12:56 pm

Posted in Blogs

Tagged with , , , , ,

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Im an italian music reworker..
    This is my trib to R. Smith and Jennifer Ayache
    “Jenn je t’aime (into) A forest”
    Listen it here http://franciarework.wordpress.com/category/reworks/the-cure-reworks/

    FRW

    March 19, 2009 at 2:22 am

  2. welcome to my site FRW!

    thanks for visiting as well as the link..it was a great tribute that you did..

    are you planning on making an album..or dyou have one out already?

    The AlanSong

    March 19, 2009 at 11:45 am

  3. I making a music collection of my songs most clicked. It will be a digital album recorded and published only on the web, in MP3 format (320 kbps + cover).
    You accept an exchange banners with my blog?
    Bye thx

    franciarework

    March 19, 2009 at 10:45 pm

  4. wow..thats really kewl..

    as for exchange banners..i would love that..but..i only have the free WP blog account…

    ..and im not that good with HTML..

    i could add you to my blogroll for the meantime if thats ok..:]

    The AlanSong

    March 23, 2009 at 4:18 pm

  5. Yea its ok for me..
    you send me a little gif o jpg (160x160px) whit your graphic and i will put in my blog..
    send it here: franco.francia[at]gmail[dot]com
    hugs!

    FRW

    March 24, 2009 at 7:58 am

  6. kewl..

    er…i am currently making my own logo which shall serve as my new watermark [for my shots], possible banners and sigs [for forums] and avatar..eheh..

    i’ll send it to ya within teh week..;]

    The AlanSong

    March 25, 2009 at 3:51 pm

  7. oh ok well done.. im a popular italian advertiser and designer.. if you need help, i can give you.. 🙂
    hugs

    franciarework

    March 25, 2009 at 8:13 pm


Leave a Reply

